ISL 2015 – Chennaiyin FC Crowned The New Champions Of Indian Super League!

Football, News, Sports

In a closely fought battle between Chennaiyin FC and FC Goa at the ISL 2015 final in Goa, Abhishek Bachchan’s Chennaiyin had the last laugh as they picked up the ISL 2015 crown by defeating FC Goa 3 – 2 within regulation time. Zico’s Goa fought valiantly and even looked set to win when Joffre scored from freekick on the 87th minute but 2 goals within 2 minutes for Chennaiyin sealed the fate of the match.

Chennaiyin FC Lift The Cup Photo timesofindia
Chennaiyin FC Lift The Cup Photo timesofindia

The match started with a lot of heat in the field as both teams raked up a few fouls. Nerves were high strung and the game showed its effects as both team looked tentative. The first half ended goalless as neither of the teams could create any positive chances.

The Championship Selfie Photo ISL
The Championship Selfie Photo ISL

It all came to life in the second half. FC Goa’s Pranay Halder caught Mendoza from behind to concede a penalty. Despite Kattimoni saving the penalty, Pelissari scored from the rebound. Not to be outdone, FC Goa scored only 5 minutes later via Haokip as he tucked in a beautiful cross from Romeo. After that, both teams created some good chances but failed to score.

Mendoza Scores The Winning Goal Photo ISL
Mendoza Scores The Winning Goal Photo ISL

On the 87th minute the match seemed to be going Goa’s way as Joffre scored from a freekick 25 yards away. But a mistake from Kattimani saw a harmless cross waddle into the FC Goa goal on the 90th minute. Just one minute later Mendoza caught a long ball and bulldozed into the FC Goa box and scored the final goal of the match to sea ISL 2015 laurels for Chennaiyin FC. On the last minute of injury time, Lucca had a desperate long range attempt at the Chennaiyin goal that went tantalizingly wide.

Chennaiyin FC were at the bottom of the table at one time but won 7 matches in a row to lift the championship. They defeated Atletico de Kolkata in the semifinals 4 – 2 on aggregate. Chennaiyin FC has been one of the most consistent teams in the championship and deservedly won the 2015 edition of ISL.

Please follow and like us:

You May Also Like

Possible Caravaggio Painting Discovered In An Attic In Toulouse, France Any painting made by the Italian masters during renaissance is of great interest artists, researchers and scholars, not to mention collectors and auct...
Gurgaon Deputy Mayor Parminder Kataria Accused Of Rape For The Second Time, By The Same Woman There is a second rape complaint registered against Gurgaon deputy mayor Parminder Kataria. The first charge was brought against him by a woman in Oct...
MV Agusta To Unveil New Concept Bike On 4th September Italian bike manufacturer MV Agusta has sent out an invitation and teaser to media showing the design of a concept bike. Media believes this bike will...
Soumyajit DasMazumdar on FacebookSoumyajit DasMazumdar on LinkedinSoumyajit DasMazumdar on Twitter
Soumyajit DasMazumdar
Soumyajit is an SAP technical consultant with a flair for writing. An avid blog reader, he started off with a free WordPress blog and slowly moved to his own personal news and blog site. Apart from writing he loves reading books, playing table tennis and long bike trips. He is currently trying to learn playing guitar and failing miserably.

Leave a Reply