ITF Announces Martina Hingis – Sania Mirza As Womens’ Doubles World Champions 2015

Sports, Tennis

International Tennis Federation (ITF) announced on Tuesday 22nd December that the pair of Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis has been chosen as the Womens’ Doubles World Champions for the year 2015. This is Hingis’s second World Championship title, her first being the Womens’ Singles World Champion title back in 2000.

Since pairing up in March this year, the Indo-Swiss duo have taken the women’s doubles circuit by storm. They have an impressive 55 –  7 win – loss record in 2015 and those 55 wins inlcude two Grand Slam wins at the Wimbledon and US Open, wins at Beijing, Wuhan, Guangzhou and their last win being the WTA finals held in Singapore. At this moment the pair is on a 22 match winning streak.

Sania Mirza And Martina Hingis Photo NDTV
Courtesy NDTV

2015 has been a special year for both the athletes. Sania Mirza, once considered India’s best bet in the world of womens’ singles tennis, came back strongly from a string of injuries that plagued her career throughout and rose through the doubles rankings to end up being the top seed in the US Open. Martina Hingis, on the other hand, had squandered the talent and performance she had offered earlier in her career but she finally seemed to have found the calming effect she needed in Sania. Experts said that their complementary style of play supports each other during the game and makes it very difficult for the opponents.

Upon hearing the news, Sania said, “I am very honoured to receive this award from the ITF after what has been a great year for me and Martina. It is incredible that we have achieved so much in such a short time playing together. I am grateful to everyone that has helped me throughout my career and I hope that my success can inspire other girls in India.”

Martina Hingis also complimented her chemistry with Sania, “It is a great honour to be named ITF women’s doubles World Champions. Sania and I have enjoyed every minute of the season and we hope to continue in 2016 in the same fashion. We are set to join a long list of champions and it is a privilege to be recognised alongside them.”

Novak Djokovich was announced as the Mens’ Singles World Champion and Serena Williams became the Womens’ Singles World Champion. The pair of Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau became the Mens’ Doubles World Champion. All the champions will be handed their awards during the 2016 ITF World Champions Dinner which will take place in Paris during the French Open on May 31st.

Please follow and like us:
Soumyajit DasMazumdar on FacebookSoumyajit DasMazumdar on LinkedinSoumyajit DasMazumdar on Twitter
Soumyajit DasMazumdar
Soumyajit is an SAP technical consultant with a flair for writing. An avid blog reader, he started off with a free WordPress blog and slowly moved to his own personal news and blog site. Apart from writing he loves reading books, playing table tennis and long bike trips. He is currently trying to learn playing guitar and failing miserably.

Leave a Reply